Minutes of the 14th Academic Council (Autonomous) Meeting

The 14th meeting of the College Academic Council (Autonomous) was held on Thursday, 28.08.2021 at 10.30 a.m. via video conference (Google meet).

Members Present in the Meeting:

1. Dr. V. Damodara Naidu, Principal & Chairman of College Academic Council

All Deans/HODs:

- 2. Dr. B. Chandra Mohan, Dean-Academics
- 3. Dr. M. Venkateswara Rao, Dean-Research
- 4. Dr. K. Rama Krishna, Dean-Student Affairs & HOD-Physics
- 5. Dr. J. Srinivasa Rao, Controller of Examinations
- 6. Dr. Ch. Naga Satish Kumar, HOD-Civil Engineering
- 7. Dr. Shaik Nazeer, HOD-Computer Science & Engineering
- 8. Dr. N. Venkateswara Rao, HOD-Electronics & Communication Engineering
- 9. Dr. N. Rama Devi, HOD-Electrical & Electronics Engineering
- 10. Prof. Ch. Ramesh, HOD-Electronics & Instrumentation Engineering
- 11. Prof. N. Siva Ram Prasad, HOD-Information Technology
- 12. Dr. T. Nanchariah, HOD-Mechanical Engineering
- 13. Sri. K. N. Prasad, HOD-MCA
- 14. Dr. P. VijayaSaradhi, HOD-Mathematics
- 15. Dr. V. Madhava Rao, HOD-Chemistry
- 16. Dr. P. AshaMadhavi, HOD-English

Faculty of the College:

- 17. Dr. P.Pardha Saradhi, Professor, Dept. of Computer Science and Engineering
- 18. Dr. T. Srinivasa Rao, Assoc. Professor, Dept. of Mathematics
- 19. Dr. B. Vijaya Krishna, Asst. Professor, Department of Electrical & Electronics Engineering
- 20. Ms. Y. Vidya Indrasena, Asst. Professor, Department of Civil Engineering

Members - Academic/Industry:

- 21. Dr. V. Ramachandra Raju, Former Vice Chancellor of RGUKT, A.P.
- 22. Prof. Vir Singh, Former Professor, IIT ROORKEE
- 23. Prof. K. Lakshmi Prasad, Principal, B.V. Raju Institute of Technology, HYD.
- 24.Dr. N Sarat Chandra Babu, Executive Director, Society for Electronic Transactions and Security, CHENNAI
- 25. Mr. Raveendra Babu Padavala, Domain Team Manager, Tieto Software Technologies Ltd., PUNE

Nominees of the University:

26. Prof. P.Siddaiah, Dean, University College of Engg. & Technology, ANU 27. Prof. K.Gangadhara Rao, Dept. of Computer Science & Engineering, ANU

Member Secretary:

28. Mr. D. Narayana Chowdary, Assoc. Prof., Dept. of Mech. Engg.

Members requested for leave of absence for the Meeting:

1. Prof. E. Srinivasa Reddy, Principal, University College of Engg.& Technology, Acharya Nagarjuna University

Proceedings:

The Principal and the Chairman, Academic Council Dr. V. Damodara Naidu, welcomed all the members for the 14th Academic Council Meeting. He introduced the new CAC members.

1. Conformation of the previous meeting minutes

The members of the Academic Council (Autonomous) confirmed the minutes of the previous 13th Academic Council meeting held on 18.02.2021. The copy of the same is enclosed as **Enclosure-1**.

2. Action taken report

The action taken report on the suggestions given by the members during the previous, 13th Academic council meeting held on 18.02.2021 was presented by the Chairman, Academic Council Dr. V. Damodara Naidu. The copy of the same is enclosed as **Enclosure-2**.

3. Appraisal of progress of the college since the last CAC meeting

The Chairman briefed the members about the progress of the college and achievements of the college since 18.02.2021 (13th CAC meeting) to till date. The salient points are as follows.

- Statistics of faculty publications, events organized by the departments, events attended by the faculty, research proposals of the faculty, patents filed by faculty and faculty achievements during the academic year 2020-21 were presented.
- The placement statistics for the academic year 2020-21 were presented.
- The statistics of the exam results of the passing out students (AY 2020-21) were presented.

The details of the same are enclosed as Enclosure-3.

4. Finalization of R-20 regulations

Dr B. Chandra Mohan, Dean Academics presented the R-20 regulations, to be followed from the academic year 2020-21 onwards.

The details of the same are enclosed as Enclosure-4.

- Prof. Vir Singh & Dr. K Lakshmi Prasad suggested to increase the percentage of credits (from 40%) to be cleared by the students for promotion to III & IV year.
- Prof. Vir Singh suggested to strike a balance of credits (between AICTE and APSCHE guidelines) for science courses.

5. Approval of the minutes of BOS meetings conducted by various departments.

The minutes of BOS of various departments were presented by the respective HODs along with the salient features.

The documents are in Enclosure-5.

- Mr. Raveendra Babu Padavala & Prof Vir Singh suggested to allot more credits to some core courses.
- Mr. Raveendra Babu Padavala suggested to incorporate some special courses (Process Mining, Robotic Automation & Intelligent Documentation) in B.Tech. Information Technology program.
- Mr. Raveendra Babu Padavala suggested to introduce courses related to Industry 4.0, Non-destructive testing, Product Design and Development courses in B.Tech. Mechanical Engineering program.
- Some internal members suggested two open elective courses in each program with 6 credits.
- Prof. K. Lakshmi Prasad suggested courses on Data Mining, IOT, AI & ML to be introduced in the curriculum with industry collaboration. He also stressed the importance of having separate cell for Career guidance and higher education.
- Prof. K. Lakshmi Prasad suggested to encourage students to inculcate the habit of self-learning to get certifications in Phyton, IOT, 3D Printing, Cisco etc. He also requested to focus on slow learners by giving special training.
- Most of the first year B.Tech. students (AY 2020-21) are not accustomed to online classes and were not able to attend the online classes due to nonavailability of internet/power/smart phone in the rural areas. Due to this students who have not appeared for the exams due to covid/not performed well, shall be given eligibility to write the exams in second phase which shall be considered as regular exams. The members approved the same.
- 6. One time opportunity for the students who could not complete B.Tech. in their stipulated period of 8 years.
 - Approval was requested to give one time opportunity for the students who could not clear their back logs in stipulated 8 years. The members approved the same.

(D. Narayana Chowdary) Member Secretary

(Dr. V. Damodara Naidu) Principal

То

All the Esteemed Members of the Academic Council (Autonomous) Office Superintendent.