

Bapatla Angineering College

(Autonomous) Mahatmaji Puram, BAPATLA-522102, Guntur (Dt.), A.P., INDIA Sponsored by the Bapatla Education Society

Estd.1981

Approved by AICTE: Affiliated to Acharya Nagarjuna University

Dr. N.SUDHAKAR, Ph.D. PRINCIPAL

Ref.: - BEC/Autonomous/AC/1433

Date: October 16, 2015.

Minutes of the 6th Academic Council (Autonomous) Meeting

6th College Academic Council (Autonomous) Meeting was held on Saturday, 10.10.2015 at 10.00 a.m. in the Conference Hall of the College Administrative Block.

Members Present in the Meeting:

Chairman:

1. Dr. N.Sudhakar, Principal, Bapatla Engineering College & Chairman, College Academic Council

All HoDs:

- 2. Dr. J.Srinivasa Rao, Chemical Engineering.
- 3. Dr. Ch.Naga Satish Kumar, Civil Engineering.
- 4. Prof. V.Chakdradhar, Computer Science and Engineering.
- 5. Dr. B.Chandra Mohan, Electronics and Communication Engineering.
- 6. Dr. G.Ravi Kumar, Electrical and Electronics Engineering.
- 7. Prof. Ch.Ramesh, Electronics and Instrumentation Engineering.
- 8. Prof. N.Sivarama Prasad, Information Technology.
- 9. Dr. M. Venkateswara Rao, Mechanical Engineering.
- 10. Sri. K.N.Prasad, MCA.
- 11. Dr. N.Prabhakar Rao, Mathematics
- 12. Dr. K.Rama Krishna Rao, Physics
- 13. Dr. V.Madhava Rao, Chemistry
- 14. Sri. N.Sudheer Kumar, English.

Experts from outside the College:

Members-Academic/Industry:

- 15. Sri.Chetan Rajdev, Dy.General Manager, Bosch Rexroth India Ltd, Bengaluru.
- 16. Sri. M.Sri Krishna, Senior Consultant, TCS Ltd. Hyderabad.
- 17. Prof. G.Nageswara Rao, Principal, ASN College of Engg. For Women, Tenali.
- 18. Prof. K.Lakshmi Prasad, Principal, GITAM College of Engg., Vishakapatnam.

Page 1 of 4



Bapatla Kngineering College

(Autonomous)

Mahatmaji Puram, BAPATLA-522102, Guntur (Dt.), A.P., INDIA Sponsored by the Bapatla Education Society

Estd.1981

Approved by AICTE: Affiliated to Acharya Nagarjuna University

Nominees of the University:

19. Dr. K.Gangadhara Rao, Department of Computer Science, Acharaya Nagarjuna University.

Co-opted Member from the College:

20. Sri. D.Narayana Chowdary, Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering and Head, Placements.

Members of the Faculty of the College:

- 21. Dr. N.Venkateswara Rao, Professor, Department of E.C.E
- 22. Sri. T.Siva Sankar, Assoc. Professor, Mechanical Engineering Department.
- 23. Smt. J. Venkata Lakshmi, Assoc. Professor, Department of EIE.
- 24. Sri. N.Karunakar, Asst.Professor, Department of Mathematics.

Members requested for leave of Absence for the Meeting:

Members-Academic/Industry:

- 1. Dr. S.R.Parimi, Educationalist and Structural Engineer, Jabili Clinic, Poranki.
- 2. Sri E.V.S.Sai Babu, Vice-President & Head, Talent Acquisition, Wipro Technologies, Bengaluru.
- 3. Sri. D.Rama Krishna, Managing Director, Efftronics Systems Pvt. Ltd., Vijayawada.

Nominees of the University:

- 4. Prof. N. Veeriah, Department of Zoology, Acharya Nagarjuna University,
- 5. Prof. P.Siddhaiah, Principal, University College of Engineering, Acharya Nagarjuna University.

Proceedings:

The Principal and the Chairman, Academic Council Dr. N.Sudhakar welcomed all the members for 6th Academic Council meeting.

Page 2 of 4



Bapatla Angineering College

(Autonomous) Mahatmaji Puram, BAPATLA-522102, Guntur (Dt.), A.P., INDIA Sponsored by the Bapatla Education Society Approved by AICTE: Affiliated to Acharya Nagarjuna University

Estd.1981

Minutes of the Meeting:

1. To apprise the members about the progress of Autonomous System and achievements of the college during the academic year 2014-2015.

Dr. N.Sudhakar, Chairman of the Academic Council, has apprised the members about the progress and the achievements of the Bapatla Engineering College during the Academic year 2014-15, which included:

- I. Results.
- II. Achievements of the Students and Members of the faculty.
- III. Placements.
- IV. Conferences and workshops conducted by various departments.
- V. Research and Developmental activities.
- VI. Industry-Academia collaboration.
- VII. MoU arrived with APSSDC & NASSCOM.
- 2. To discuss and review the existing Academic Regulations-2014

Members of the Academic Council have unanimously approved the amendments made to the rules and regulations of Academic Regulation 2014.

3. To discuss and review the Scheme of Instruction and Syllabi proposed by the Boards of Studies of all the departments.

Members of the Academic Council have approved the Schema and Syllabus of 2/4, 3/4 and 4/4 B.Tech. of various departments that have been presented by the respective Heads of the Departments.

Academic council has acceded to call for (if required) BOS meetings of the departments to make changes (if any) to the scheme and syllabus of Academic Regulation of 2014.

Members suggested to review the title of a Course (named as Electronics) in the scheme of Mechanical Engineering.

Page 3 of 4



Bapatla Kngineering College

(Autonomous) Mahatmaji Puram, BAPATLA-522102, Guntur (Dt.), A.P., INDIA Sponsored by the Bapatla Education Society

Estd.1981

Approved by AICTE: Affiliated to Acharya Nagarjuna University

4. Nomination of subject experts for the Board of Studies of various departments and their approval.

Members of the Academic council have approved the Nomination of Subject Experts for the Board of Studies of various departments and their constitution.

5. Any other subject with the permission of the Chair.

Members of the Academic Council have approved the minutes of the 6th Academic Council Meeting held in August 2014.

The members of the academic council have made the following suggestions to improve upon the standards of the curriculum. The suggestions are:

- 1. To offer internship programmes by using the research centres available in the institute to the students of the college and the nearby colleges.
- II. To adopt choice based credit system into the curriculum.
- III. To limit the 8th semester exclusively to the research project in the curriculum.
- IV. To offer open/regular courses related to the following fields of Digital Technology: Artificial intelligence, social networking, cloud computing, Data Analytics and Design of Algorithms.
- V. To adopt the credit based scheme for promoting the students rather than subject based scheme.

(D.Narayana Chowdary) Member Secretary



(Dr. N.Sudhakar) Principal, BEC & Chairman, Academic Council

To:

All the esteemed members of the Academic Council (Autonomous).

Copy to:

- 1. The President, Bapatla Education Society.
- 2. The Vice-President, Bapatla Education Society.
- 3. The Secretary, Bapatla Education Society.

Page 4 of 4