Dr. S.RAJASEKARAN

B.E. (Mechanical) M.E. (Production-Robotics) Ph.D. (Mechanical-Pulse GMA Welding) (Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, India) **PRINCIPAL**

Ref.: - BEC/Autonomous/AC/2018-19/1445

Date: November 10, 2018.

Minutes of the 9th Academic Council (Autonomous) Meeting

The 9th College Academic Council (Autonomous) Meeting was held on Saturday, 10.11.2018 at 10.00 a.m. in the Conference Hall of the College Administrative Block.

Members Present in the Meeting:

1. Dr. S. Rajasekaran, Principal & Chairman of College Academic Council

All HODs:

- 2. Dr. J. Srinivasa Rao, Chemical Engineering
- 3. Dr. Ch. Naga Satish Kumar, Civil Engineering
- 4. Dr. Shaik Nazeer, Computer Science & Engineering
- 5. Dr. B. Chandra Mohan, Electronics & Communication Engineering
- 6. Dr. N. Rama Devi, Electrical & Electronics Engineering
- 7. Prof. Ch. Ramesh, Electronics & Instrumentation Engineering
- 8. Prof. N. Siva Ram Prasad, Information Technology
- 9. Dr. T. Nanchariah, Mechanical Engineering
- 10. Sri. K. N. Prasad, MCA
- 11. Dr. P. Vijaya Saradhi, Mathematics
- 12. Dr. K. Rama Krishna, Physics
- 13. Dr. V. Madhava Rao, Chemistry
- 14. Dr. P. Asha Madhavi, English

Faculty of the College:

- 15. Dr. T. Chandra Sekhar Rao, Professor, Dept. of Civil Engineering
- 16. Dr. V. Aruna, Assoc. Professor, Dept. of Physics
- 17. Sri. K. Prasada Rao, Assoc. Professor, Dept. of Mechanical Engineering
- 18. Dr. K. Srinivasa Rao, Asst. Professor, Dept. of Information Technology

Members - Academic/Industry:

19. Dr. Muddana S. C. Bose, Former Professor, IIT-Bombay

- 20. Dr. V. Govardhana Rao, Former Professor, IIT-Bombay
- 21. Mr. J. Ravichandra, General Manager-ITS, Central & West, Hyderabad Telecom

22. Dr. K. Vizaya Kumar, Academic Adviser, Bapatla Education Society

Nominees of the University:

23. Dr. R. Satya Prasad, Prof. & Head, Dept. of CSE, Acharya Nagarjuna University 24. Prof. P. Siddaiah, Dept. of ECE, University College of Engineering, A.N.U. 25. Dr. R. V. S. S. N. Ravi Kumar, Prof. & Head, Dept. of Physics, A.N.U.

Member Secretary:

26. Mr. D. Narayana Chowdary, Assoc. Prof., Dept. of Mech. Engg.

Members requested for leave of absence for the Meeting:

- 1. Mr. Kota Jayaram, Engineering Head, Google Hyderabad
- 2. Mr. M. V. Ramesh Kumar, Scientist-G, ARDE, DRDO
- 3. Dr. M. Veera Sekhar, Founder, Congnisight India Pvt. Ltd.

Proceedings:

The Principal and the Chairman, Academic Council Dr. S. Rajasekaran, welcomed all the members for 9th Academic Council Meeting.

1. Conformation of the previous meeting minutes.

The members of the Academic Council (Autonomous) confirmed the minutes of the previous 8th Academic Council meeting held on 04.08.2018. The copy of the same is enclosed as **Enclosure-1**.

2. Action taken report.

The action taken report for the suggestions given by the members during the previous 8th Academic council meeting held on 04.08.2018 was presented by the Chairman, Academic Council Dr. S. Rajasekaran and was approved by the members. The same is enclosed as **Enclosure-2**.

Dr. Muddana S.C.Bose suggested instituting the best teacher award to encourage faculty.

3. Change in Academic Rules & Regulations for R14 & R18, permitting VIII Semester students to take MOOC Courses instead of Classroom Courses.

The following changes in Academic Rules & Regulation for R14 & R18 were proposed by Dr. J. Srinivasa. Rao, COE.

- a) In order to facilitate the students who take up 3-6 months internship/training/ advance placements/projects offered by renowned Industry-Institutions-Universities in India and abroad, permission may be granted to take up equivalent MOOC courses instead of regular class room courses in that semester. Such cases are to be proposed by the department committee and approved by the HODs committee. The department committee should evaluate the certificate of the MOOC course and award suitable credits.
- b) The students who take up 3-6 months internship / training / advance placements / projects offered by renowned Industry-Institutions-Universities in India and abroad should select a suitable project work in consultation with internal guide allocated by the department committee and submit the report for evaluation & award of credits.

The above changes were approved by the members.

Dr. V.Govardhana Rao and Mr. J.Ravichandra suggested taking sufficient care in monitoring the students who take training/internship outside the college.

4. Changes in Academic Rules & Regulations for R18

The following changes in Academic Rules & Regulations for R18 were proposed by Dr. J. Srinivasa. Rao, COE.

a) Pass criteria in Semester End Examinations (SEE)

- 5.2 Semester End Examination (SEE) in Theory, Design and/or Drawing course:
- 5.2 b) A minimum of 25 (50%) marks are to be secured exclusively in the Semester End Examination (SEE) of theory, design and/or drawing course and a minimum total of 50 marks in SEE and Continuous Internal Evaluation (CIE) put together in a theory, design and/or drawing course is to be secured in order to be declared as passed in that course and for the award of the grade in the course.

Shall be revised as

5.2 b) A minimum of 20(40%) marks are to be secured exclusively in the Semester End Examination (SEE) of theory, design and/or drawing course and a minimum total of 50marks in SEE and Continuous Internal Evaluation (CIE) put together in a theory, design and/or drawing course is to be secured in order to be declared as passed in that course and for the award of the grade in the course.

Similarly the pass mark in Semester End Examination (SEE) in laboratory courses, Evaluation of Term Paper and Evaluation of the Project shall be modified to 40% marks as against 50% marks earlier proposed.

 Prof. P.Siddaiah suggested considering 50% as pass marks in Semester End Examination (SEE) in laboratory courses, Evaluation of Term Paper and Evaluation of the Project.

b) Engineering Graphics as Lab Course

Engineering Graphics (18MEL01) proposed earlier as Theory Subject will now be considered as Laboratory Course. Laboratory Course will be conducted using a Drafting Software.

The above changes were approved by the members.

5. Research Policy

The research policy was presented by Dr. P.Sundar Kumar, Prof., Civil Engineering Department and approved by the members. The copy of the same is enclosed as Enclosure-3.

- All the members appreciated the initiative taken to device a research policy for the institute.
- The members suggested formulating a research advisory committee along with a research director.
- Dr. Muddana S.C.Bose has suggested identifying potential areas of research and motivating the younger faculty to pursue active research.
- Dr. V.Govardhana Rao suggested faculty monitoring for strengthening research. He emphasized the need for provision to be made in the budget for seed money to carry out research.

6. Any other matter with the permission of the chair

The Principal and the Chairman, Academic Council Dr. S. Rajasekaran informed the members about the general collaborative agreement between New Mexico State University and Bapatla Engineering College. The MoU is enclosed as Enclosure-4.

(D.Narayana Chowdary) Member Secretary

5

(Dr. S.Rajasekaran) Principal

To All the Esteemed Members of the Academic Council (Autonomous) Office Superintendent.